Boston Half Marathon 2013: Check.

Sneakers & Skyscrapers

This past Sunday, four months of training finally paid off. After a 6 a.m. train ride and shuttle bus, pre-race jitters, and four long waits in line for the porta potties, I achieved my goal. I had hoped to run the race in under two hours, and I finished with an official time of 1:53:57.

Overall, the course was beautiful (along the Emerald Necklace), but the entire route was either uphill or down, which proved tricky in maintaining a steady pace. However, there was no shortage of interesting and inspiring runners along the way. I passed two men in their 80’s, a man in a football helmet (who finished right behind me) and a man who juggled three baseballs the entire time (who, sadly, finished right before me). Additionally, the fans were incredible and would shout out the name on my bib with encouraging cheers. It was such an enjoyable…

View original post 158 more words

Leave a Reply

